Pleased to meet you

urlHello, world. Welcome to The Campus Haven, your resource for news on college sexual assaults.

These days, it seems like every other day there is news of some high-profile university mishandling a rape case. We know that rapes are happening all the time.  We know we live in a terrible, victim-blaming rape culture. We know that victims seldom report their assaults.

So when they do, shouldn’t colleges be doing everything in their power to remove perpetrators from the campus to help survivors get justice? It seems like more than just common safety sense — it’s the right thing to do. Apparently, that’s too much to ask from some of the nation’s top universities.

A little bit about me: My name is Lauren. I’m a recent graduate from the University of Maryland and a rape survivor. You can read more about that here. I’m an incoming National Campus Organizer at Feminist Majority Foundation. My goal in life is to eradicate rape and sexual violence, as well as help other survivors and advocates.

So that’s why I started The Campus Haven. As a rape culture combatant, I found myself wondering why there’s no one-stop-shop when it comes to college sexual assault news. I put my handy-dandy journalism degree to use and decided to make it myself.

If you have any tips or news that I’m not updating, send me an email at campushaven@gmail.com.

One Comment on “Pleased to meet you”

  1. […] Pleased to meet you (campushaven.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

